The Paddle Canada National Sea Kayak Program

The Sea Kayak program includes nationally recognized certifications in five skill levels, five instructor levels, and four instructor-trainer levels. Certifications are earned during course participation and through a process of mentorship. Paddlers are also taught the Leave No Trace principles to encourage active environmental awareness and protection.

The skill levels stream begins with an introduction to kayaking and evolves to the development of the skills and knowledge necessary for safe sea kayak touring.

The Sea Kayak program no longer includes intentional camping in its curriculum. If your want to learn about camping while sea kayaking, check out Paddle Canada’s Camping Skills Program.

The Paddle Canada National Sea Kayak Program Organization Chart

Skills Development Stream

Waterfront Kayak Skills
Basic Kayak
Kayak Rolling
Level-1 Skills
Level-2 Skills
Level-3 Skills
Level-4 Skills

Instructor Development Stream

Waterfront Kayak Instructor
Basic Kayak Instructor
Kayak Rolling Instructor
Level-1 Instructor
Level-2 Instructor
Level-3 Instructor
Level-4 Instructor

Instructor Trainer Stream

Basic Kayak Instructor Trainer
Kayak Rolling Instructor Trainer
Level-1 Instructor Trainer
Level-2 Instructor Trainer
Level-3 Instructor Trainer


Age Requirements

There are no age restrictions for any skills course (except at the discretion of the course director). For all instructor courses, the minimum requirement is 16 years of age.

Please forward any questions, comments, concerns and feedback to the Sea Kayak Program Development Committee.