Skip to content

Bill Mason Memorial Scholarship 2011- 2012 Award Winner is Emma Drudge

bmmsf scholarship winner emma drudge

On behalf of the BMMSF Committeee and the Board of Directors of Paddle Canada, we are pleased to announce Emma Drudge is the recipient of this years Bill Mason Memorial Scholarship Award. Emma will receive a cheque for $1000 from the scholarship fund,  to assist her in her academic year. 

 It is also our pleasure to provide her with a free one-year membership to Paddle Canada, which includes a 1-year subscription to Rapid Media’s Canoeroots and Family Camping Magazine, among other member benefits.

Emma is currently enrolled in 3rd year at the University of Kings College in Halifax, pursuing a combined hounours degree, part in Journalism and part in Environment & Sustainability. She is also a graduate of the Outward Bound Canada College 5 month program and has guided trips for Outward Bound Canada. Other employment includes retail staff at MEC, Toronto and Halifax stores and working for Boundless Adventures Assoc., where she guided canoe trips for adults with mental illness and brain injuries. These work experience led her to pursue her current fields of study. She has focused on water issues at every opportunity, particularly the way in which riparian (interface between land and a river or stream) ecosystems are impacted by hydro-electrical damming.  She would like to continue to work in the field of Outdoor Education with the goal to incorporate more environmental focussed issues in the learning.  The concern of one’s surroundings is what she hopes to instill in students, whether traveling by land, lake or river (ocean too). 

We look forward to having Emma,  carry on as a steward for future generations, keeping inline with the environment and the philosophies and memories of the great Canadian paddler and conservationist, Bill Mason.  On behalf of the Bill Mason Memorial Scholarship Fund Selection Committee and the Directors at Paddle Canada,  congratulations once again.

The Paddle Canada Board of Directors would also like to thank the selection committee once again, for their contribution in time to review all 11 applications this year.  Committee members include, Mark Lund, Beck Mason, Joyce Mason, Bob Henderson, Ken Buck and Max Finkelstein.